What am I thankful for? Discovering Saint Sushi Bar’s tasting menu!

Saint Sushi Bar – the best place to experience delicious sushi and unique flavour combinations in the Plateau #sushiaddict. (Side note: they are called Saint Sushi Bar but they don’t serve alcohol!) Anyway, if you’re an adventurous person, who loves to experience new flavours, Saint Sushi is the place to go! Especially if you love variety but can’t eat too much portion-wise (All You Can Eat sushi places are essentially useless to you).

Saint-Sushi Bar interior

After hearing so many amazing things about Saint Sushi Bar, I finally went for dinner on a random Thursday in June. I reserved for two people at 5:30 – though there was really no need. You only need to reserve if you’re going to eat after 7pm or if you’re in a big group because it’s a small restaurant. Previously, I tried to go last minute as part of a three person group on a Thursday night but it was full. So, better safe than sorry!

For $26.50 each, we ordered the tasting menu. While I don’t eat just anything, and was a little worried about what I would be trying, I’m so glad that I was feeling more adventurous that day. The flavours are mind blowing, the combinations really work, and nothing was too far outside my comfort zone! Yummy.

Salmon sashimi at Saint-Sushi restaurant in the Plateau of Montreal
Salmon sashimi

First up – salmon sashimi with green apple slaw (2 pieces each). Damn, I would love to eat that again. Though a little cilantro would have really taken it over the edge for us. Then we got the “Christmas Tree” (2 pieces each). Mmmmmmmm… basically amazingness (chopped up lobster and crab salad – I think) on a cracker.

"Christmas tree" at Saint-Sushi
“Christmas Tree”

Last up, the amazing sushi platter, which included four rolls and about 10 pieces of sushi each (this is the main image of the blog post). Every single piece was beautifully presented and delicious. While it doesn’t sound like a lot of food, we left feeling full but more importantly, raving about our little foodie adventure.

The ambiance was also fantastic! The employees prepping the sushi were fun and singing along to the awesome 90s playlist they had going. I will for sure return to this cool sushi spot on Duluth!

Saint Sushi Bar
424 Duluth E Avenue
Montréal H2L 1A3

Leave a comment